2017 Meyler Cup Final


This years Meyler Cup Final will take place on Sunday 20th August at Penwortham Cricket Club.

Garstang will take on Vernon Carus in a repeat of the 2016 Final, in which Garstang in a rain affected game.

vernonsnewcrestVernon Carus, who have lifted the trophy on nine previous occasions will be looking to add a tenth title when they make the short trip under the railway bridge to Middleforth Green.

A James McDonagh century saw Vernon Carus past Norcross in round One, as they defeated the fylde coast side by 168 runs. In the Quarter Finals, Vernons defeated 2016 Premier Division Champions Fulwood & Broughton by 45 runs, thanks to David Fisher's important 57.

In The Semi Final, Vernon Carus once again batted first posting 174-8 from 40 overs. Economical bowling from Ben Duerden and Paul Hayton helped dismiss Croston for 115 in reply.


garstangnewGarstang's route to the final has been aided by their excellent bowling attack. In Round One, 5-24 from Gareth Jennings dismissed South Shore for 89, to which Garstang passed for the loss of 3 wickets.

Longridge welcomed Garstang in the Quarter Finals, and asked Garstang to bat first which seemed to be an excelent decision as Garstang were bowled out for 133. Captain Mark turned to brothers Ian and Mike Walling with the ball in the hope of retaining the trophy and alongside Overseas Amatuer Coen Oosthuysen(8-4-12-1), their 8 wickets saw Longridge only able to score 95.

In the Semi Final, Thornton Cleveleys visited the Riverside and were asked to bat. Thornton's young side were unable to pass 100 as they were dismissed for 96, all the bowlers returning excellent figures in particular 2017 signing Danny Gilbert's 3-17.

Alan Cook batted through the Garstang reply for 38 as they passed the Thornton total in the 27th Over.


The two sides met in the Premier Division on 5th August with Garstang coming out on top by 81 runs. That result saw Garstang move to the top of the Premier Division. Garstang also came out on top in a tighter game back in May, so Vernon Carus will be up for revenge having lost the previous 4 encounters with their last win between the two sides coming in July 2016.

Both sides have won at Penwortham CC in 2017.


The Umpires for Sunday's Meyler Cup Final will be David Jenkins and Steve Winter.


Rate this item
(0 votes)
Alex Diver

Palace Shield Executive

ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW