Founded:  1919
Joined Competition:  2015 (Left 2016)
President:  Neville Norcross
Play-Cricket Site:



Chairman  Paul McNally Snr
Secretary  Paul McNally Jnr
   52 Wolseley Road, Preston, PR1 8EU
 Tel : 01772-563312, Email : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 
Treasurer  Michael McNally
   186 Lyons Lane, Chorley, PR6 0PP
 Tel : 01257-413368, Email : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
League Reps  Paul McNally Snr & Matthew Higham
Club Welfare Officer  Emma Bullock
Junior Representative  N/A


History of Chorley St. James C.C. and Limbrick cricket ground prior to 2005

Cricket has been played on Limbrick Cricket field (now known as the Gillett Playing Fields) for over 100 years. The Limbrick Cricket Club fixture card for 1910 shows some interesting opponents such as Manchester, Bolton, Lytham and even a two day match against Lord Eglington’s XI. The ground was owned by the Gillett family, local mill owners and members of St. James Church. In 1919 St. James Church Men’s Institute formed a team and used Limbrick. In 1925 they entered the Chorley and District Cricket League as Chorley St. James and won the first division championship in 1930 and 1934. Several of their players went on to play for Chorley in the Ribblesdale League.

When the Second World War began, and few men were available to play, the league closed down until 1947. Unfortunately for St. James’, Arnold Gillett died in 1947 and the company, John H. Gillett and Sons Limited, decided to sell a large portion of their land, including the cricket field, to Lancashire County Council for £1. The Conveyance states that the land will be used “for recreational purposes connected with Youth Services carried on by the County Council”. St. James’ had nowhere to play.

Friendlies were arranged against local sides such as White Coppice and Mawdesley and a team was entered in the Alliance League playing on park pitches. Several trophies were won but the main aim was to get back on Limbrick. After years of correspondence and meetings with local and county authorities permission was granted to use the ground for 16matches a season and in 1967 St. James’ were accepted in the second division of the Chorley and District League.

More negotiations and hard work by dedicated officials and finally a petition to Chorley Council persuaded them to buy back the ground from the County. St. James’ could now make progress and the club built up two senior sides and an under 18 eleven in the Chorley League. From then until the dissolution of the league in 2005, Chorley St. James’ C.C. were champions of Division 1 on 4 occasions, Division 2 once and reached six finals of the Ley Cup winning 4. They have also represented the League in the Lancashire Shield in three seasons, once reaching the semi-final. The second team also played in two Nightingale Trophy Finals. In total the club has received 21 individual and team trophies at various Presentation Nights.

In the winter of 2016/17 Chorley St James and Charnock Richard Cricket Clubs merged to form Charnock St James Cricket Club


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner   
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up  
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner  
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up  
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner  
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up  
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner  
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up  
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner  
Tom Croft Trophy Division Four (E) Runner Up  
Michael Dunn Trophy Division Five Winner  2015
Bernard Vanner Trophy Division Five Runner Up  
Carr Trophy Division Six Winner  
  Division Six Runner Up  
Moore & Smalley Trophy Sunday Division (F) Winnersun  
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun  
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO  
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO  
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO  
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO  
Crabtree Cup Winner of Crabtree Cup  
John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree Cup KO  
Twenty20 Cup Winner of Twenty20 Cup  
T20 Runners Up Runners Up in T20 Cup  
Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner  
John Sharp Trophy Under 10s Runners Up  
Tony Poxon Trophy Under 11s Winner  
Highfield Trophy Under 11s Runners Up  
Dutton Forshaw Trophy Under 13s Winner  
Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13s Runner Up  
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13 Plate Winner  
Colin Dawber Trophy Under 13 Plate Runner Up  
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner  
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up  
Frank Henry Trophy Under 15 Plate Winner  
Trevor Wilde Trophy Under 15 Plate Runner Up  
Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner  
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up  
Bob Millward Trophy Fair Play Winners  

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Gillette Playing Fields
Weavers Brow

Tel. 01772 464351 (Club) 01772 498795 (Office)




ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW