BAC/EE Preston Cricket Club

BAC/EE Preston Cricket Club Birdseye View


Founded: 1921
Joined Competition: Joined League 1921, Re-Elected 1953
President: R.T. Kirkby
Play-Cricket Site:


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



The club played in the Palace Shield from 1922 as Dick Kerr’s, a team from the engineering factory in Strand Road, Preston did not rejoin after the war.

A ground at Ashton Park was used at this time, shared for several seasons with Bradshaws and Loxhams. The club was strong and successful in the 1920s, with two hat-tricks, in winning the Palace Shield 1924 – 26 and 1928 – 30. In 1929 Dick Kerr’s bowler, B.F. Morgan set a record for the number of wickets in a season of 111 at 4.9 runs, which stands to the present day, and other players from the club appeared regularly in the league representative sides.

The club was re-elected to the Competition as English Electric in 1953, going straight into the First Division, mainly on account of the excellent facilities at the new Riverside ground. This has remained one of the best in the Palace Shield, hosting a succession of finals and representative matches over the years.

The 1960s was the period of the club’s greatest success, winning the Palace Shield four times and the Palace Cup twice with two Meyler Cup successes. In 1967 and again in 1978 the club achieved the rare feat of winning the ‘double’ of Palace Shield and Meyler Cup. The names of many of the players who contributed to this success, Pallett, Keane, Gillibrand, Lidderdale, Moon and later, Sharples, Seed, Millar and Gill were well known and respected, appearing regularly as winners of batting and bowling awards.

The club has been less successful in recent seasons but retained its place in Division A until 1999. A greater problem has been the threat to the ground at Riverside with the prospect of redevelopment. This has been resisted through the efforts of the present officials of the club, with the support of the Competition and the LCB. The club is now working positively with the new owners on the site to ensure the continuance of cricket and the preservation of a superb sporting facility in this area of Preston.





Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner  19241, 19251, 19261, 19281, 19301, 19341, 19622, 19642, 19662, 19672, 19672 ,19782, 19812
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 19271, 19632, 19682, 19752, 19772
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 19221, 19311, 19672, 19802, 20044, 20094
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 19832, 19983
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 19903, 2019
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 20054, 20074
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up 19863, 19994
Carr Trophy Division Six Winner 2022
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 19652, 19672, 19782
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 19612, 19692, 19712, 19722, 19772, 19852, 19953, 20064
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 19742, 19912
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 19692, 19852, 19883

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner
1 - Club known as Dick Kerr's CC
2 - Club known as Electric Electric
3 - Club known as BAe Preston
4 - Club known as BAC/EE Preston



BAC/EE Preston Cricket Club
South Meadow Lane

Tel. 01772 464351 (Club) 01772 498795 (Office)





ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW