Fleetwood Cricket Club



Founded: 1891
Joined Competition: Joined League 1922, Re-Elected 1988
President: John Whalley
Play-Cricket Site: http://fleetwood.play-cricket.com/


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



broadwatersTaken from the 2002 Centenary Booklet

The present Club can trace its history back to 1891, although a town cricket team was known to exist many years earlier.

Fleetwood were one of the founder-members of the Palace Shield Competition, joining in 1902.The Club played originally on a field at Milling-ton’s Farm, and on the Old Recreation Grounds near Wyre Dock Station. Later they moved to Warrenhurst Park. In 1924 the Club moved to their present ground at Broadwater, and opened on May 24th, 1924, with a match against Penwortham.

Fleetwood twice won the Championship, in 1922 and 1939, and held or shared the runners-up trophy on six occasions. In 1947 the Club were successful in the Meyler Cup.

In 1950 an opportunity presented itself for Fleetwood to apply for membership of the Ribblesdale League, and this being accepted, it left only the Second XI to represent the Club in the Palace Shield Second Division. Two years later, with the formation of the Northern League, the Second XI also left.

Connections with the Competition were broken for almost half a century but, during this period there was regular movement of players, in both directions, between Fleetwood and the individual Palace Shield clubs until, in 1998, the Third XI were elected to Division E and the club joined the Junior Section.



Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner  1922, 2022
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 1920, 1921, 1947, 1948
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 2002
  Division Five Runners Up 2012, 2018
Carr Trophy Division Six Winner 2009
  Division Six North Winner 2017
Moore & Smalley Trophy Sunday Division (F) Winnersun 2002
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 2017
Supersports Twenty20 Cup Winners of Division One Twenty20 2022
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 1947
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 2022
John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree Cup KO 2000, 2002, 2003
Highfield Trophy Under 11 Runners Up  2011
  Under 11 Plate Runners Up 2012
Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13 Runners Up 2014
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13 Plate Winner 2010
  Under 13 Plate Runners Up 2012
Dave Walker Trophy Under 14 Runners Up 2017
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15 Winner 2015, 2017
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1998
Club of the Year Club of the Year 2022

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Fleetwood Cricket Club

Tel. 01253 872132

3rd XI
Rossall School






ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW