Longridge Cricket Club



Founded: 1865
Joined Competition: Joined League 1906 Rejoined 1969
President: T. Haworth
Website: http://longridge.play-cricket.com/
Play-Cricket Site: http://longridge.play-cricket.com/


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 




Taken from the Palace Shield 2002 Centenary Booklet - updated July 2020longridgenew

A previous Longridge Cricket Club joined the Palace Shield in 1906, when the League went under the name of the “Alhambra Competition”, consisting of ten teams. The club’s first game in the competition was against Great Eccleston on the 28th April 1906. Longridge lost the match being bowled out for a paltry 32. The next two fixtures, against Blackpool and Fleetwood, were rained off would you believe.

The club did however secure its first victory in the league at home to St. Annes on 26th May, St. Annes being bowled out for 37. A report of a match v Kirkham on 4th August 1906, rescued from the archives by club stalwart and memorabilia man W.J. Gornall, reads as follows:
“The Longridge team set an example on Saturday that other clubs might well do to follow for, although they hail from the most distant points in the area from which the clubs are drawn, they will all be on the field ready to play by ten minutes to three, the result being that before 5 o clock, the game had ended.”
There was no mention in the report of Longridge being bowled out for 26!

Although the club was founded in 1929, a medal has recently come into our possession. It was presented to a Mr W Taylor for winning the batting averages in season 1896!

Longridge left the competition in 1908 and went on to play in the "Preston and District
League” until re-joining the Palace Shield in 1969. Shortly after, the club became “Longridge Cricket & Hockey Club”, a partnership that was to last until 1995 when the hockey section broke away due to the introduction of artificial pitches.

The club introduced a 3rd team to play Saturday cricket in 1992 under the auspices of Mr Peter Tuson. The club is eternally grateful to Peter for getting this going and seeing it through. Starting in the “Preston & District League”, the team joined the Shield competition in 1995 with the formation of E Division and became the inaugural winners. The team also became first ever winners of the Crabtree Cup in 1997.

The club has progressed well in the 21st century, with all teams, including an added 4th XI enjoying a good deal of success in both league and cup competitions.  

Off the field things have also developed with the club now owning two grounds and providing one of the biggest junior cricket programmes in the county. This model is working as there is now a constant drip feed of quality juniors into senior cricket. A new function room has been built and is proving very popular with the local community for parties, gatherings and meetings etc. and is providing a steady income stream for the club to continue to develop. 

Special mention must be made of our now president, Mr Tom Haworth who has been around forever and whose enthusiasm and hard work has been the single main reason that the club finds itself in the strong position we see today.

Longridge were fortunate enough to win the Palace Shield in 2018 and elected to compete in the Northern Premier League. That said, the Shield is a wonderful competition and the club will continue to support it in any way possible as cricket continues to evolve.      



Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner  1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2018
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 1994, 1995, 2001, 2009, 2014
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1968, 2009, 2014, 2017, 2022
Norman Willacy Trophy Division One B Runner Up 2018
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 1971, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2021
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 1975, 1996, 1998
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1968, 1973, 1980, 1992, 2013, 2016
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1995, 1998, 2012
Tom Croft Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1996, 1997, 1999
Micheal Dunn Trophy Division Five Winner 2014
Carr Trophy Division Six Winner 2010
Moore & Smalley Trophy Sunday Division (F) Winnersun 1998
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 1997, 1999
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 1990, 1994, 2009
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 1988, 1993, 2002
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 1984, 1987, 2001, 2009, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2021, 2022
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 1986, 1990, 1999, 2000, 2003
Crabtree Cup Winner of Crabtree Cup 1997, 1998, 1999
John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree Cup KO 2014, 2019
Supersports T20 RU Runners up in Twenty20 Cup 2016
T20 Div 2 Runners Up Runners up in T20 Division 2 Cup 2015, 2017
Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner 2008, 2013
John Sharp Trophy Under 10s Runners Up 2007
Tony Poxon Trophy Under 11s Winner 2015
Graham Lawton Trophy Under 12s Winner 2015, 2016
Dutton Forshaw Trophy Under 13s Winner 1996, 2004, 2016, 2017, 2019
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13s Plate Winner 2022
Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13s Runner Up 1997, 1999, 2006, 2007
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13s Plate Winner 2015
  Under 14s Winner 2016, 2017
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner 1992, 2003, 2016
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 1986, 2008, 2017
Frank Henry Trophy Under 15 Plate Winner 2009
Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner 1976, 1979, 2019
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1981, 2004, 2008, 2012

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner



Longridge Cricket Club
“Newsham Memorial Ground”
Chipping Road

Tel. 07542-461326

3XI/4XI Opposite Main Ground





ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW