Lytham Cricket Club



Founded: 1855
Joined Competition: 2018
Play-Cricket Site:


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



Lytham Cricket Club was founded in 1855 by Squire Clifton of Lytham Hall. In 1946 Lytham joined the Manchester & District Association having been involved in playing friendly matches for the previous 91 years.Lytham CC

Lytham Hall estate of which the cricket ground was part, was sold by the squire to the Guardian Royal Insurance Company in 1963. In 1967 the club became a multi-sports club incorporating cricket, tennis, hockey and soccer. The club purchased the ground in the late 1980’s thus ensuring that cricket would be played at Lytham in perpetuity.

First Class cricket came to Lytham in the early 1980’s even though benefit matches & 2nd XI County Championship matches had been held earlier. The first County Championship match was held in 1985, the visitors being Northampton CCC. Since that date regular 1st and 2nd XI county matches have been held at Lytham when the ground takes on a festival atmosphere firmly establishing Lytham as one of the favourite out grounds in Lancashire.

Lytham CC left the Manchester & District Association in 1997 as champions and joined the expanding Liverpool Competition. In 1999 Lytham were promoted to the Premier Division as that season’s 1st Division champions. The Liverpool Competition was accredited as an ECB Premier League for the season 2000 thus ensuring that Lytham had achieved one of its objectives by becoming a founder member of the ECB Premier League. In 2010 Lytham CC won the League.

The Liverpool Competition ECB Premier League is considered to be one of the top 4 ECB Leagues in the country. The league team won the League Cricket Conference Presidents Trophy in both 2002 & 2003 beating the Durham Premier League and the Nottinghamshire Premier League respectively. Lytham CC are now considered to be one of the top 5 strategic clubs in Lancashire. We are also one of the top 200 clubs in the country, being Clubmark accredited in May 2003 and CCDF registered in September 2003.

In 2003 we were also acknowledged as BBC Community Club of the Year for Fylde with Steve Perkins also being honoured as Coach of the Year for Fylde. Our junior section is the largest in the area and has the highest number of ECB qualified coaches in the vicinity. The junior teams play in the Palace Shield Junior Section. We run a Kwik Cricket section from age 7 and currently field nine junior teams in the league, one in U10 two in U11, three in U13, two in U15 and one in the U17 age-groups.

Our juniors over the age of 15 also have the opportunity to play in the senior teams at their appropriate level. Many of our juniors play in the league representative teams and are expected to play in the newly formed Borough teams.

Lytham CC is an active member of the Fylde Borough Council Cricket Development Group and through this organisation deliver coaching to schools in the locality. We are also closely involved in the LCB Lancashire Cricket Partnership which strives to bring together the top clubs in the region in order that they may exchange ideas and gain support from the LCB.


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner 2014
John Sharp Trophy Under 10s Runners Up 2013
Tony Poxon Trophy Under 11s Winner 1997, 2005, 2014, 2019, 2021
Highfield Trophy Under 11s Runners Up 2000, 2015, 2022
  Under 11s Plate Winner 2012
  Under 12s Winner 2022
  Under 12s Runner Up 2015, 2016, 2017
Dutton Forshaw Trophy Under 13s Winner 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008
Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13s Runner Up  
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13 Plate Winner 2009
Colin Dawber Trophy Under 13 Plate Runner Up  
  Under 14 Winner 2015
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner  
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 2012, 2016. 2022
Frank Henry Trophy Under 15 Plate Winner 2009
Trevor Wilde Trophy Under 15 Plate Runner Up  
Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner 2016 
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1997, 2010
Bob Millward Trophy Fair Play Winners  

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Lytham Cricket Club
Church Road

Tel. 01253-734137



 belhaven brewery


ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW