Preston Cricket Club



Joined Competition: 1953 rejoined 2018
President:  Clive Henderson
Play-Cricket Site:


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



Preston CC is one of the oldest cricket clubs in the world. The club played on three different grounds at the Marsh near Ashton, Penwortham Holme and Penwortham Marsh before establishing West Cliff in 1859.

Preston joined the Liverpool Competition in 1947 after previously having a club policy of participating only in friendly fixtures. After missing the inaugural Northern League season they became members of the league in 1953.

Preston were joint champions in 1967 and won the title outright in 1970 and 1983 and were division two champions in 1962 and 1986.

West Cliff staged five Lancashire CCC first-class fixtures between 1936 and 1952.



Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 2022
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up 1970, 1975
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division Two Divisional Winner 2022
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 1971
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 1970, 1976, 1977
  T20 Division One Runner Up 2021
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner 1985, 1986, 1988
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 1982, 1983, 1989, 2004
Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1980, 1987

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Preston Cricket Club
South Meadow Lane

Tel. 01772 252070



 belhaven brewery


ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW