John Smith elected Lancashire ACO President


At the Lancashire ACO (LACO) AGM which was held at Ribblesdale Wanderers CC last week our President John Smith was unanimously elected President of LACO as well. This wholly ceremonial role was previously held by Tommy Wilson who sadly passed away last year and prior to Tommy was held by ex Test umpire John Holder.


John was the sole recommendation for the post by the LACO Committee who referenced his long association with LACO as an umpire in both the Moore and Smalley Palace Shield and the Lancashire League, as well as his work both as a Trainer for LACO and as a former Chair of the organisation.


John organised much of the Training of new umpires for our competition over many years and more recently has been involved as an LACO Developer, observing umpires all over the county who apply for promotion on the Umpire Pathway.


His appointment has been welcomed on social media with one post referencing how highly he is regarded and respected in the north west cricket fraternity for his contribution and services.


Rob Hales

Chair LACO

Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Alex Diver

Palace Shield Executive

Northern League Secretary



 belhaven brewery


ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW